The Carousel Café was once called Rochester’s Café, better known to the locals as ‘Rockies’. Originally owned by Eric George Rochester in 1952. The café was built next door to the Regent Theatre which was opened in 1926.
Barry Wiseman, a local between 1948 – 1966, remembers his daughter having her first experience of gravy on chips at Rochester’s Café – Rockies.* Rochester’s Café was later bought by Charlie Salem and renamed it The Carousel Café. After a few years Eric Rochester bought back The Carousel Café, keeping its name.
The Carousel on Vincent is now owned by Alicia, who is excited to be celebrating local heritage and continuing the tradition of the café and milk bar, providing a nostalgic and popular dining experience for locals and visitors alike.
* CESSNOCK ADVERTISER, 19 NOVEMBER, 2017: Former Cessnock resident Barry Wiseman shares his thoughts on how the town has changed.